Medical Professionals

This Mandated Reporter Training for Medical Professionals will focus on specific situations and concerns related to the evaluation of child abuse and neglect in a medical or healthcare setting. It is recommended for all healthcare professionals including nurses, paramedics, EMT’s, physicians, dentists, chiropractors, alternative health practitioners, physical therapists, and others.

Followed by the General Training module, the Medical Professionals module is a 1.5 hour course that includes six lessons and concludes with challenge questions/scenarios.

At the conclusion of the training you will take a final exam which will test the information that you have learned during the training. It consists of 20 questions and requires an 80% or higher to be completed. You may take this exam as many times as needed.

You Will Learn
  • To identify red flags for abuse when evaluating child injuries
  • To recongize maltreatment of children with developmental disabilities
  • Tools for screening for domestic violence
  • How to talk to a child about suspected abuse
  • Overcoming obstacles to reporting
  • What to do if you suspect abuse

The Medical Professionals training may take you up to 4 hours to complete. 

Please Note

In order to maintain compliance with California State laws for mandated reporters, the general training course is a required prerequisite for all of the profession-specific trainings. You will see the general training course required in all profession-specific trainings.

Altogether, the general training and the profession-specific trainings meet the training requirements of the California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA), Education Code for school personnel, and Health and Safety Code for licensed child care providers.

General Training


The general training module should be taken by those who volunteer with children as well as a precursor training for other mandated reporters.

 2 Hours

Medical Professionals


This training will focus on specific situations and concerns related to the evaluation of child abuse in a healthcare setting.

 1.5 Hours

Exam
 


At the conclusion of the training you will take a final exam, which will test the information that you have learned during the training.

 0 - 1 Hour

Certificate
 


Upon scoring an 80% or higher you will be issued a certificate, which will serve as proof of your completion of this training.

What people are saying.

As a working mom with a 4-year old, I appreciated how simple and easy-to-use this training was. It made it very easy for me to get the certification I needed and helped me understand a very valuable subject matter. 

Lori Pinion, School Director, Auburn

Stop the Abuse.

If you suspect that a child is in
danger of abuse or neglect,
report it.
 

Take Action.

Discover ways you can be active
in the fight to end child abuse.